I am still here! I do still occasionally write!

Hi, yes, hello, it’s me! I live and breathe! 

I was sick for like 6 days. I’m finally starting to feel better. And, as you saw from my Instagram, I did an exercise this week! My motivation is high. It is strong right now. I’m so very committed to making this whole lifestyle overhaul happen

This week, anyway. 

But that’s okay! I’ll take it! It’s all I got and that is ooookaaaay!

So, for those of you who follow my Facebook page, you will have seen where I sang everyone a song about weighing 220lbs and having no pants that fit properly. And that may have seemed a little body-shamey/negative, etc. But really (really really) it’s okay! It was more a “coming to terms” thing, saying, like, “Okay, hey, this is my reality right now. And that’s okay. There’s nothing wrong with that. But it is also okay to feel like, oh, hey, I’d like to fit in the pants I’ve already spent money on instead of having to go spend more money on new  pants.” 

And what does that mean, ladies and gents? …the thing I’ve sworn off time and again: purposeful weight loss. 

I’ve been overeating for my activity level for almost 2 years now. I’ve been consistently and slowly packing on pounds each month. I’ve been drinking too much and sleeping too little, both of which mostly definitely add to my tendency to overeat and under-exercise.

I will not insult anyone’s intelligence here by saying, “It’s not about being thin.” Because part of it IS. And, yes, you can feel that way and still be body positive about yourself and others and love yourself through a purposeful weight loss process and continue to celebrate body diversity and all that jazz. Which is exactly what I intend to do! 

So what’s my plan? Great question. Here it is:
* participate in moderate to heavy lifting 3 times a week
* restart 5k training program and run 3 times a week
* eat at a 10% caloric deficit
* sleep 7-8 hours each night
* wake up around the same time every morning 

What is my current start point? Well, here we go, folks… 
As of 06/01/2016
Weight: 220lbs
Estimated Body Fat %: 41% (avg. between the YMCA and US Navy formulas)
Bust: 43″
Under Bust: 37″
Arm (flexing): 14″
Waist: 37.5″
At Navel: 42″
Hips: 50.5″
Thigh: 29″ 
Calf: 16″

And photos:

image
image
image
image

I’m having a little anxiety over sharing these photos.. one, because my mirror is clearly SUPER dirty.. and two, because, well, I’m not super comfortable with what my half-nekkid body looks like that. But the more I look at these, the more I feel like, “It’s okay. It’s still a beautiful body. It still works in all the ways it’s supposed to. It’s all okay.” 

Lots of “okay” being thrown around, haha! 

My regular check-ins are going to be Monday mornings (if I can remember) because this should give me over 24 hours since a workout and allow any water retention from that to shed. I’ll be weighing weekly and taking measurements/progress photos bi-weekly. 

Here we go!

Leave a Reply

